Bernice L. Fox Latin Teacher Training


The Trustees of Eta Sigma Phi, the national honorary classics society, announces the Bernice L. Fox Teacher Training Scholarship. This $500 scholarship is available to an Eta Sigma Phi member who is teaching, or preparing to teach, Latin in the secondary schools. Applicants should have received a Bachelor’s degree in the last eight years or shall have received it before before June of the calendar year of the applicatoin and will not have received a doctoral degree.

The scholarship is to be used for a summer activity contributing to the recipient’s preparation for teaching, such as attendance at the Summer Institute of the American Classical League, the Kentucky Language Institute, or the Illinois Pedagogy Workshop; or attendance at university courses leading to Latin certification. There is no application form, but those wishing to apply should submit a proposal that includes a description of the program, a budget, any other financial support expected, and their contributions to Eta Sigma Phi when they were undergraduates. They should also ask an appropriate person (department chair, principal, supervisor, etc.) to send a letter of support. They should indicate the chapter into which they were initiated, as well as the date of the initiation, if possible.

This scholarship honors Bernice L. Fox who taught English, Latin and Greek at Monmouth College in Monmouth, Illinois, from 1947 to 1981, and who served as chair of the Department of Classics from 1970 until her retirement in 1981. Throughout her long and dynamic career she worked tirelessly to promote the Classics in Illinois high schools and colleges. In 1956 she founded Monmouth College 's Gamma Omicron Chapter of Eta Sigma Phi. She was the author of Tela Charlottae, the Latin translation of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web. In 1991 Monmouth College conferred on her the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters. She died in 2003.

Selection of recipients is made by the Eta Sigma Phi Board of Trustees, whose members are Sr. Thérèse  Marie Dougherty (chair) of the College of Notre Dame in Baltimore, Maryland, (chair) and Professors Alden Smith of Baylor University in Waco Texas, Martha Davis of Temple University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Leon Fitts of Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, and Daniel Levine of the University of Arkansas in Fayettesville. In selecting the recipient of this scholarship, the Trustees will give attention to the quality of the applicant’s work in Greek and Latin, experience in teaching Latin K-12, and contribution to the activities of Eta Sigma Phi at the local and national level.  The recipient will be announced after the National Convention.

  To apply, go to:


Applications are due by February 1st of every calendar year.

For further information and questions about this scholarship, contact Dr. Mary Pendergraft, Chair of the Fox Scholarship Committee, Department of Classical Languages, Wake Forest University, PO Box 7343, Winston Salem, NC 27109,  (336) 758-5331, e-mail:


Eta Sigma Phi, the National Classics Honorary Society (